Home |
Academics | SFC Literary Prize

SFC Literary Prize

$50,000 for a 3rd to 5th
published work of fiction

Submissions for the fourth St. Francis College $50,000 Literary Prize open November 1, 2014.
2015 Jury
  • Sigrid Nunez (Boston University)
  • Erin McGraw (Ohio State University)
  • Daniel Torday (Bryn Mawr)
About the Jurors

Daniel Torday's debut novel, The Last Flight of Poxl West, will be published by St. Martin's Press in 2015. His novella, The Sensualist, won the 2012 National Jewish Book Award for debut fiction. Torday's short stories and essays have appeared in Esquire Magazine, Glimmer Train, Harvard Review, The New York Times and The Kenyon Review. He is currently the Director of Creative Writing at Bryn Mawr College.

About the Literary Prize

The biannual $50,000 Literary Prize is sponsored by St. Francis College to offer its support and encouragement to the literary community and mid-career authors who have recently published their 3rd to 5th work of fiction.

  • Self-published books and English translations are considered. 
  • The current Prize is for work published between June 2013 and May 2015.
Prize submissions open: November 1, 2014
Deadline for prize submissions: May 1, 2015
Shortlist announced: August 15, 2015
Winner awarded: Brooklyn Book Festival Gala, September 2015.  

To enter, please submit 5 copies of the work to:

SFC Literary Prize
St. Francis College
180 Remsen Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201

Questions?: Email Ian Maloney

David Vann's novel, Dirt, won the third St. Francis College Literary Prize

Vann beat out the other four writers on the 2013 Short List (Read the full release):

  • Carry the One (Simon & Schuster), by Carol Anshaw
  • The Middlesteins (Grand Central Publishing), by Jami Attenberg
  • Mule (Mariner Books), by Tony D'Souza
  • The Right-Hand Shore (Picador), by Christopher Tilghman

The winner was announced the night before the Brooklyn Book Festival at the opening gala on September 21. The next day, Vann, along with Anshaw and Attenberg kicked off the Book Festival discussing their work at a panel moderated by Jury Prize Member Peter Cameron.

Past Winners

2013: David Vann, Dirt
(Jury: Peter Cameron, Jonathan Dee,Kate Christensen)

2011: Jonathan Dee, The Privileges
(Jury: Rick Moody, Darcey Steinke, Francine Prose)

2009: Aleksandar Hemon, Love and Obstacles
(Jury: Heidi Julavits, Jonathan Lethem, Michael Chabon, Ayelet Waldman, Ben Marcus

2013 Literary Prize Short List Panel

Reading From Love and Obstacles

©   St. Francis College. All rights reserved.
180 Remsen Street, Brooklyn Heights, New York, 11201. 718.522.2300


powered by finalsite