Skip to main content


April 30, 2010

Remembering the Past, Celebrating Academic Excellence at the Annual Charter Day Convocation

“Each one of the members of Duns Scotus has taken the lessons St. Francis gave us and has transformed it into his or her own magic,” said President of the Duns Scotus Honor Society Aleksandra Milanova ’10 as she welcomed the newest inductees at St. Francis College’s annual Charter Day Convocation on April 30. “Each student here is given the chance to grasp that magic and transform it into something powerful; the magic of scholarship and faith in good, faith in people. This magic changes lives.” (Watch the Entire Convocation)

The event celebrates the day in 1884 when St. Francis College was formally granted its Charter by New York State to grant degrees. It is a day when the College recognizes its brightest current students as well as other educators who uphold the high standards strived for within the College.

In addition to the Duns Scotus induction, other students who have excelled in their studies are granted a Dean’s Award, while National Grid presents three additional students with the National Grid Scholarship and Internship award. This year, Lorraine M. Lynch ’92, National Grid Vice President, U.S. Treasury and member of the St. Francis College Alumni Board of Directors presented the awards to students Sophia Boussalh, Matthew A. Manzi and Erica Martin ‘12.

Three educators from outside of the college were also honored with Honorary Degrees; Sister Angela Gannon, C.S.J., Secretary for Catholic Education and Formation for the Roman Catholic Diocese, Sister Dolores F. Crepeau, C.S.J., Principal of Fontbonne Hall Academy and Brother Dennis Cronin, F.S.C., President of Bishop Loughlin Memorial High School.

In addition, Sister Angela delivered the Keynote Address. She spoke about St. Francis College as a community that nurtures the dreams of the students who grace the College’s halls. “If we build our dreams with faith, faith in ourselves and faith in our sisters and brothers and above all our faith in God with whom all things are possible, the mission will thrive and St. Francis will stand as a powerful sign of the small college with the big dream.”

Charter Day is also a time for the College to honor employees who have worked on campus for 15 and 25 years with service awards.

Duns Scotus Inductees
Founded in 1935, the Duns Scotus Society is named for the Blessed Duns Scotus, a Franciscan scholar and champion of Our Lady’s Immaculate Conception. Election to membership in the Society is based on scholastic standing, participation in extracurricular activities, evidence of loyalty to the ideals of St. Francis College and demonstration of a true Franciscan spirit.

Christie Fischetti
Stefan Gencic
Magda Kane-Maysonet
Pavel Kibrick
Christopher LaSalle
Maria Leon
Reve Lovitt
Thalita Paladino
Jonathan Palumbo
Mohammad Rimawi
Liliana Rodriguez
Deirdre Turner
Erin White

Honorary Duns Scotus Inductees
Filomena Califano, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry & Physics
Michele Hirsch, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Psychology

Dean’s Award
The Dean’s Award recognizes and rewards students who have completed 28 or more credits at St. Francis College with a minimum grade point average of 3.6. The purpose is to reward academic excellence and help defray the cost of tuition not covered by other financial programs.

Jacqueline Catalano
Assad Ishtiaq
Meaghan Valenti

President’s Award
The President’s Award was instituted in 1972 to honor non-instructional personnel and the significant contribution they make to St. Francis College. The award recognizes administration and staff who have 15 years and 25 years of meritorious service.

(15 years)

  • Patrick Andretta, Tutor, Academic Support
  • Harriet Dunn, Payroll Associate
  • Mitchell Levenberg, Director Academic Enhancement Center
  • Danny Plaza, Procurement and Financial Systems Supervisor

The Pax et Bonum Medal
Instituted by the Board of Trustees and named from one of the earliest greetings of St. Francis of Assisi, this medal recognizes and honors those members of the faculty who have completed 15 years and 25 years of dedicated, loyal preeminent service at St. Francis College. “Peace and Goodness” is a simple yet meaningful expression of the objective of Franciscan educators.

(15 years)

  • Elizabeth Boian, Adjunct Professor, Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
  • Kathryn Grant, Ph.D. , Adjunct Professor, Department of Communication Arts
  • Kathleen Nolan, Ph.D. , Professor and Chair, Department of Biology and Health Promotion
  • Evelyn Wolfe, Ph.D. , Professor and Chair, Department of Chemistry and Physics

(25 years)

  • Paddy Quick, Ph.D., Professor of Economics and Chair, Department of Economics, History, Political Science and Social Studies
  • Sister Marianne Sennick, C.S.J., Ph.D., Associate Professor of Political Science, Department of Economics, History, Political Science and Social Studie

Charter Day commemorates May 8, 1884, the day the Legislature of the State of New York granted an official Charter to the Board of Trustees of St. Francis Monastery allowing the College to formally award degrees to students. The St. Francis Academy was founded almost thirty years earlier in 1859 by two Franciscan Brothers who were sent to Brooklyn from Ireland with the mission of educating the borough’s working class people.

Attached Photos: (Duns Scotus Inductees), (National Grid Scholarship Winners)

St. Francis College, founded in 1859 by the Franciscan Brothers of Brooklyn, is located in Brooklyn Heights, N.Y. Since its founding, the College has pursued its Franciscan mission to provide an affordable, high-quality education to students from New York City’s five boroughs and beyond.
St. Francis College, 180 Remsen Street, Brooklyn Heights, NY 11201

This site uses cookies

We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze website traffic. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.