Skip to main content


October 25, 2017

Author Ron Currie Latest Walt Whitman Writer

St. Francis College proudly welcomed Ron Currie, author of The One-Eyed Man, as the latest author to speak in the Walt Whitman Writers Series on October 25, 2017.

(Watch Author Ron Currie)

Currie's other work includes the novels Everything Matters! and Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles and the short story collection God is Dead, which was the winner of the New York Public Library's Young Lions Award. In 2009, he received the Addison M. Metcalf Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His books have been translated into fifteen languages. He lives in Portland, Maine.

ron currie

Previous authors in the Walt Whitman series include: Tanwi Nandidni Islam, Chad Harbach, Marlon, James, Paul Beatty, Junot Díaz, Charles Baxter, George Saunders, James Salter, Colum McCann, Ben Marcus, Dinaw Mengestu, Kate Christensen, Julie Orringer, Jonathan Lethem, Darcey Steinke, and Rick Moody. (Watch Past Walt Whitman Readings)

ron currie ian maloney

The Walt Whitman Series is a continuation of St. Francis College's commitment to supporting Brooklyn's literary community. In addition to visits by these authors, the College also offers the biennial $50,000 St. Francis College Literary Prize for mid-career authors. The winner for the 2017 prize will be announced on the eve of the Brooklyn Book Festival. (More on the Literary Prize)

ian maloney ron currie theo gangi jennifer lancaster

This site uses cookies

We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze website traffic. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.