St. Francis College Literary Prize

SFC Literary Prize

$50,000 for a 3rd to 5th
published work of fiction

Samantha Hunt, author of THE DARK DARK
Winner of the 2019 St. Francis College Literary Prize

Read the full story


About the $50,000 St. Francis College Literary Prize

The biennial $50,000 Literary Prize is sponsored by St. Francis College to offer its support and encouragement to the literary community and mid-career authors who have recently published their 3rd to 5th work of fiction.

The 2019 winner was announced on September 21, 2019

2019 SFC Literary Prize Finalists

SFC Literary Prize Jury 2019

  • Chris Abani
  • Ron Currie
  • Kate Christensen

APPLY NOW for the ONLY low-residency program in NYC

St. Francis College's location means we bring the publishing industry to our students, running daily roundtables and panel discussions with top agents, editors and publishers. Our 6-to-1 student to faculty ratio offers an intimate, focused environment for aspiring writers to flourish in our downtown Brooklyn community. Learn more.

Past Winners

2017: Dana Spiotta, Innocents and Others
(Jury: Ellen Litman, Jeffery Renard Allen, René Steinke)

2015: Maud Casey, The Man Who Walked Away
(Jury: Sigrid Nunez, Erin McGraw, Daniel Torday)

2013: David Vann, Dirt
(Jury: Peter Cameron, Jonathan Dee,Kate Christensen)

2011: Jonathan Dee, The Privileges
(Jury: Rick Moody, Darcey Steinke, Francine Prose)

2009: Aleksandar Hemon, Love and Obstacles
(Jury: Heidi Julavits, Jonathan Lethem, Michael Chabon, Ayelet Waldman, Ben Marcus


About the Jurors