Skip to main content



Charter Day Convocation

April 29, 2022
3 P.M. - 5 P.M.
Founders Hall

The St. Francis College community is invited to celebrate the 138th anniversary of the College's charter. On May 8, 1884, the Legislature of the State of New York granted a charter to the Board of Trustees of St. Francis Monastery "to establish a literary college in the City of Brooklyn under the title of St. Francis College." The annual commemoration of Charter Day celebrates the rich tradition and history while honoring the students, faculty, staff, and community partners.

Keynote Speaker and Recipient of the SFC Center of Entrepreneurship Award

Arkell Cox, St. Francis College Board of Trustee Member, IHOP Franchise Developer for the borough of Brooklyn, and co-founder and Vice President of HerStoryLifeStyles

List of Honorees:

Duns Scotus Honor Society* Inductees

  • Vanessa Acquafredda, B.S., Education
  • Amanda Alexandre, B.A., Communications
  • Ayah Badawy, B.S., Biology
  • Melissa Gonzalez, B.S., Nursing
  • Ivana Grandic, B.A., Communications
  • Laik Green, B.A., Psychology
  • Ridwan Hannan, B.A., Communications, B.S., IT
  • Arkelino Hila, B.S., IT
  • Brian Mansell, B.A., Communications
  • Mustafa Mohammadi, B.S., Accounting
  • Nicholas Racos, B.A., Communications
  • Albion Veliu, B.S., Accounting

Honorary Duns Scotus Honor Society Inductee

  • Scott Hofer, Assistant Professor, Political Science
  • Maliek Sterrett, Assistant Director of Multicultural Student Affairs, Department of Campus Life

Duns Scotus Scholarship Recipient - TBD

  • Will be announced at a later time.

Recipients of the Pax et Bonum** medal for 15 years of dedicated service as a faculty member

  • Starr Eaddy, P.h.D., Associate Professor, Allied Health Department
  • Julio Huato, P.h.D., Associate Professor, Economics Department
  • Tarshene Miller-Greaves, Senior Adjunct Lecturer, Management Department
  • Aaron Weinstein, Senior Adjunct Lecturer, History Department
  • Scott Weiss, P.h.D., Associate Professor & Chair, Communication Arts Department
  • Jennifer Wingate, P.h.D., Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Studies Department

Recipients of the Pax et Bonum** medal for 25 years of dedicated service as a faculty member

  • Michele Hirsch, P.h.D., Executive Director of Institutional Effectiveness Department
  • Ian Maloney, P.h.D., Professor, Literature, Writing, and Publishing Department
  • Behrouz Tabrizi, P.h.D., Professor, Economics Department

Recipients of the President's Award** medal for 15 years of dedicated services as an administrator and staff member

  • Amir Ali, Library Clerk
  • Jennifer Graham, Assistant Director of Institutional Research & Accreditation
  • Clive Bentick, Associate Head Men's Basketball Coach
  • Brian Guidera, Director of Aquatics and Head Swimming Coach

Recipients of the President's Award** medal for 25 years of dedicated services as an administrator and staff member

  • Susan Young, Library Clerk
  • Kennitha Allahar, Manager of Mailroom, Document Services and Procurement, Office of Finance

Related Events


SFC Radio: Vinylthon

Tune in! SFC Radio is participating in Vinylthon, when college radio stations across the world play vinyl records to celebrate radio and vinyl media.
April 20, 20249 A.M. - 5 P.M.St. Francis College

This site uses cookies

We use cookies to improve user experience and analyze website traffic. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies.